Ireland as of yet.

I’ve been struggling to put together a blog post that describes my time in Ireland so far. It cannot be described in one or two words. It has been an absolute whirlwind. I’ve had some incredibly fantastic highs and some pretty difficult lows. The idea of packing up a suitcase, leaving town and starting a new life somewhere abroad is romanticized. It is impossible to leave behind the baggage of your “old” life and start fresh somewhere new. I’ve been trying to wrap my head around the adjustment process of moving abroad alone and have learned through multiple google searches that I am not alone in this. People describe moving abroad as a bit of a grieving process from losing all of the comforts and realities of life back home. Something as simple as blasting music in the car with my friends driving to Toronto makes me heart hurt.

So I found myself the other day feeling the ultimate low and temporarily decided to call it quits on the whole idea. I’ve taken a few days clearing my mind at my sisters house in England (thank heavens for Ryanair and their cheap flights) in the mix between going off the grid for a bit in Portugal and backpacking for two months or sucking it up and going back to Ireland. I’m happy and again a little scared to say that I’m going back to Ireland. Future me would be livid to know that I gave up my shot at travelling for an extended amount of time and succeeding at pushing myself out of my comfort zone. I’m going to make it work and I’ll find myself in a few months flourishing. Nothing good comes easy.

On the other hand, Ireland is really beautiful and I would be wrong if I said that the Guinness tasted the same as everywhere else. I’m confident with my new found ability of crossing the road without doing a 360° view of my surroundings, finally. I walk around to the correct passenger seat door. The nightlife is amazing, pubs are packed with people who’ve come to embrace the live music scene while being drunk and merry. I’m excited to explore places outside of Dublin that aren’t as touristy. I heard a girl in the bathroom in Temple Bar say “Oh my god, I met an Irish person!” who would’ve thought. Dublin is a wonderful city and the people are so so lovely. Walking down Grafton Street and stopping to listen to the street buskers is one of my favourite things to do. Thank you to all of the people that have helped me in the past week and to all of the friends I made while staying at the hostel, I hope that we get to meet again.

 

One thought on “Ireland as of yet.

  1. You are amazing! Ireland is so lucky to have you coming back. You’re going to kill it and have the time of your life 🙂 So proud of you little sis! Also, can’t say I’m upset about you being so close by for the foreseeable future. Love you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

