Two Years. Two Backpacks.

I’m looking forward to seeing how this will play out. I’ve managed to dwindle my life down into two backpacks and it feels liberating and a tad terrifying. A suitcase didn’t seem practical to travel with, may allow you more space but it is a pain in the ass to drag around. When I was in Asia I had to resort to carrying a pack on my back and front for a little and prefer it much more. As I continue my journey if I find that I made any major screw ups I will come back and add them! Here it goes.

Clothing 

This will obviously be entirely based on where you are travelling but I’m planning on hitting all seasons while I’m away. I cannot stress enough to roll your clothes up, it will give you so much more space. So here it goes!

  • 4 light sweaters
  • 5 pairs of pants (leggings, 1 pair of shorts, 1 skirt, athletic pants…I’m not a jeans person)
  • 4 long sleeve shirts
  • 3 tank tops
  • 4 t-shirts
  • 1 cardigan
  • 5 pairs of socks
  • 10 pairs of underwear
  • 3 bras (black, beige, strapless)
  • 1 headband
  • 1 swim suit
  • hat, mitts, scarf
  • sunglasses
  • Rain coat
  • Running shoes, sandals, flats, warm boots

Toiletries

  • Toothpaste/toothbrush
  • Hairbrush (mini one)
  • Elastics
  • Face wash
  • Shampoo/conditioner (2 in 1 to save space)
  • Deodorant
  • Makeup (just bring the essentials)
  • Advil
  • Tampons etc.

Important Things

  • Passport
  • Drivers license
  • Multiple photocopies of your passport and drivers license (scan them and send them to your email as well, just in case. Leave copies of the print outs in your backpack/suitcase)
  • Flight/train/transportation information printed out
  • Your issued Visa would be an important one to bring, photocopy that as well
  • Bank statements proving you have the sufficient funds needed
  • Credit card, bank card
  • Cash in the currency of your chosen country to tide you over until you open a bank account
  • Travel Insurance information
  • If you have any prescriptions, see a doctor and get enough to last you
  • Journal, I think that is important

Electronics

  • Laptop or Tablet (something you can get on Wifi with)
  • Ipod/music device
  • Headphones
  • Camera, camera charger, memory card, battery
  • Phone that could possibly be unlocked to work with another carrier
  • Chargers for all devices
  • Make sure you have a plug adapter for your chosen destination

I hope this helps whomever just as much as it helped me, I feel confident with my two backpacks and I think I will survive just fine! I will update though. Europe bound in 3 days, what the funk.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

