They Want Me, They Really Want Me!

Ireland has accepted me with open arms to work and play with them for two years. There really isn’t anything special about me, you can do it too. Here is an outline of the process of applying for my Ireland Working Holiday Visa. It’s pretty simple.

You have the option of applying through SWAP but if you are a cheapo like me you might decide to do it yourself and see where the wind takes you.

To be eligible you must :

  • Be between the ages of 18-35
  • Have a bank statement stating a minimum of $2,500 CAN
  • 2 passport size photos with a white background
  • Passport that is valid at least 30 months from the time you enter Ireland.
  • Proof of travel insurance covering you for at least 12 months. I used Merit Travel, it was the most affordable one I found.
  • Send a fee of $150 to Embassy of Ireland with your application.

Once you have all of that prepared you are ready to mail your application. You can find the formal application here and an overview of the Working Holiday information here. Just print out the application, fill it out, attach all of the necessary documents to it and send it to the Irish Embassy to be approved.The Irish Embassy of Ottawa gave me a response within two weeks of me mailing it and I was ready to go. You can activate your Visa within 12 months of it being issued.

The last thing you will need to do won’t be until you arrive in Ireland. You need to register with the Garda National Immigration Bureau within one month of you being there. This allows Visa holders to seek employment without having a valid work permit. The fee is €300 (currently $423.53 CAN) but is paid when you register.

I’m still working out everything back home in order to make the full transition! I’ll make a simplified packing/preparing list before I go that might help as well.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

